Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Kismet-newcore

  1. #1
    Member iceman_3233's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort Washington
    Posts
    56

    Default Kismet-newcore

    Is Kismet-newcore broken in BT4prefinal? Updating with Fast-Track does this fix it.
    The enemy is no longer ignorance - It is vigilance

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    332

    Default

    You probably haven't configured your interface in /usr/etc/kismet.conf
    Search the forum. This has been asked before.
    Updating with Fast-Track does this fix it.
    No it doesn't.
    SecurityTube has two new sections. Questions & News

  3. #3
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default

    Updating kismet will actually help you, at least it did help me.

    There was a decent presentation on willhackforsushi a while ago..

    http://www.willhackforsushi.com/pres...nt-newcore.pdf

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    332

    Default

    I wasn't aware that Fast-track updates Kismet-newcore until I updated FT. Sorry for the misdirection. You still should configure your interface though.
    SecurityTube has two new sections. Questions & News

  5. #5
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by #mfBaranian# View Post
    I wasn't aware that Fast-track updates Kismet-newcore until I updated FT. Sorry for the misdirection. You still should configure your interface though.
    You can specify an interface from within newcore as well.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    26

    Exclamation can't configure Kismet to us WUSB54Gv4

    Hi I have a WUSB54G,

    I've played with the Kismet.conf file but can't get this card to work does work?????

    Has anyone got this card working? could you please post the steps to get it working?


    cheers

    I feel kinda dense asking about it but better a stupid question than a stupid mistake

  7. #7
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default

    Just tested my WUSB54GC in vmware with kismet and works fine !

    Just plugged it in,
    Checked with airmon-ng to see it was recognized
    Started kismet
    After following the various prompts, was finally prompted to add an interface and voila.

    Make sure you are using the updated version of kismet.

    The above on BT4 Pre by the way.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    26

    Wink Updated kismet to get mine working

    Yeah I Just had to update mine and it seemed to fix the problem

    Code:
    cd /usr/src
    svn co hxxps://xxx.kismetwireless.net/code/svn/trunk kismet
    cd kismet
    ./configure --prefix=/opt && make && make install
    then

    Code:
    Update Kismet at any time
    # cd /usr/src/kismet
    # svn up
    # make && make install
    just to be sure

    then ran it from

    Code:
     /opt/bin/kismet
    got that info from a pdf linked somewhere on this site...... so thanks to whoever really wish I knew who to thank but them the breaks I guess

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •