Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: log in issues(yes i know how to get in gui mode:P)

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO CIHAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default log in issues(yes i know how to get in gui mode:P)

    hi there,

    bt4 starts just fine asking my login and pass.
    after inputing this i get the first line where i enter startx

    the gui starts i get this loadersplash thing which freezes at the second icon and a popup appears

    after clicking ok(the only option)
    another popup is shown. after clicking ok there i get kicked back to terminal-mode(how am i supposed to call i t actualy? non-gui mode?)

    bt4 starts up just fine when i typ sudo startx and my pass.

    but then i cant get into regular mode when in konsole in the gui
    it starts up in root mode every time i run konsole.

    thanx in advance,

    Cihan

  2. #2
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CIHAN View Post
    hi there,

    bt4 starts just fine asking my login and pass.
    after inputing this i get the first line where i enter startx

    the gui starts i get this loadersplash thing which freezes at the second icon and a popup appears

    after clicking ok(the only option)
    another popup is shown. after clicking ok there i get kicked back to terminal-mode(how am i supposed to call i t actualy? non-gui mode?)
    It would help if you post the error messages...

    Quote Originally Posted by CIHAN View Post
    bt4 starts up just fine when i typ sudo startx and my pass.

    but then i cant get into regular mode when in konsole in the gui
    it starts up in root mode every time i run konsole.

    thanx in advance,

    Cihan
    su <user>

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO CIHAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    thanx m8 that worked...

    im at work atm so i have to keep vista booted but ill let u know the errors if you still wanna know them?

    (tried the command in virtualbox)

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO PyrO_PrOfessOr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default

    I have had this error before.

    Have you ran startx as root in the past? If so, the file .ICEAuthority needs root access so you would have to run
    Code:
    sudo startx
    Alternatively you can do
    Code:
    sudo chown <yourusername> ~/.ICEAuthority
    There might be another file that needs this treatment too but I can't remember it off the top of my head. If you can't be bothered with this then just startx as root.

    EDIT: I know this has been solved but I figured this might come in handy for people looking to set it so that they aren't running programs as root all the time.
    Intel Core i7 965 Extreme 3.2GHz @ 4.2GHz
    Custom Water Cooling
    Intel 80GB X25-M SSD
    6GB Corsair Dominator 1.6GHz
    ATi Radeon 4870X2

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO CIHAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PyrO_PrOfessOr View Post
    I have had this error before.

    Have you ran startx as root in the past? If so, the file .ICEAuthority needs root access so you would have to run
    Code:
    sudo startx
    Alternatively you can do
    Code:
    sudo chown <yourusername> ~/.ICEAuthority
    There might be another file that needs this treatment too but I can't remember it off the top of my head. If you can't be bothered with this then just startx as root.

    EDIT: I know this has been solved but I figured this might come in handy for people looking to set it so that they aren't running programs as root all the time.
    thanx m8 ill look in to it also i shall edit my first post containing the errors..

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO CIHAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    beeing late i know but,
    it was idd as pyro predicted a .ICEAuthority error.

    thanx guys for your help


    SOLVED!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •