Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Wireless Card Detected, Network manager Dont Work

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6

    Exclamation Wireless Card Detected, Network manager Dont Work

    Ok I know I can use other methods of connecting to a wireless connection. I would much rather use the network manager. I am using the latest bt4 release, not the beta.

    When i do a iwconfig I get the following:

    Code:
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:""
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated
              Tx-Power=27 dBm
              Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr=2352 B
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:on
              Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    When I start the networkmanager i get the green globe on the system trey.
    When I do an airmon-ng i get the following:

    Code:
    Interface       Chipset         Driver
    
    wlan0           Atheros         ath5k - [phy0]
    when doing an ifconfig I get the following:

    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr xx.xx.xx.xx.xx.xx (i hid these numbers)
              inet addr:192.168.1.128  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: xx.xx.xx.xx.xx.xx Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:5679 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:5088 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:6370987 (6.3 MB)  TX bytes:801693 (801.6 KB)
    When I open the networkmanager I dont get any wireless devices detected in the scan

    When I run airodump-ng wlan0 i get the following:

    Code:
    CH  9 ][ Elapsed: 44 s ][ 2009-09-09 21:39
    
     BSSID              PWR  Beacons    #Data, #/s  CH  MB   ENC  CIPHER AUTH ESSID
    
     xx.xx.xx.xx.xx.xx  -62       39       10    0  11  54   WPA  TKIP   PSK  Downstairs Wireless
     xx.xx.xx.xx.xx.xx  -66       60        0    0  11  54e  OPN              XBOX 360 LIVE REPEATER
     xx.xx.xx.xx.xx.xx  -76       54        0    0   6  54   WPA  TKIP   PSK  SuperNatural
     xx.xx.xx.xx.xx.xx  -90       10        1    0   1  54 . WPA2 CCMP   PSK  REDCON
    I know the card is scanning. I dont want to use this feature for scanning and connecting., I would like to use the features of the network manager because I have a Linksys router setup with DD-WRT to act as a repeater for my xbox live, i know i have it at open encryption but I cant access it or get anything to scan in the network manager.

    The network manager shows the wlan0 is NOT disabled.

    Can anyone help me get the network manager to start scanning for my networks as a primary so I can easily switch between wireless networks.

    Thanks a lot!

  2. #2
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Default

    there is nothing call open encryption.its open authentication.encryption falls under stream cipher and block ciphers categories & examples are RC4,AES,TKIP,CCMP.put the AP into Access-Point Mode instead of repeater/bridge mode and to put your card in managed mode instead of GUI,use CLI.e.g.
    iwconfig wlan0 mode managed essid <AP ESSID>
    dhclient wlan0
    it should work now.

  3. #3
    Member zWiReDz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    123

    Default

    /etc/init.d/wicd start

    Then go to menu and go to internet then click on WICD then bam... You got wireless... Not that hard..
    "If it's stupid but works, it's not stupid." - Murphy's Laws of combat, #2

  4. #4
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zWiReDz View Post
    /etc/init.d/wicd start

    Then go to menu and go to internet then click on WICD then bam... You got wireless... Not that hard..
    If he haven't already uninstalled wicd... I don't understand why people still like networkmanager, since it is buggy and wicd works better... Yes, it's easier to use, and wicd is difficult to get used to, but after a few clicks I learned how to work with it, it's not that hard...

  5. #5
    Member zWiReDz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Snayler View Post
    If he haven't already uninstalled wicd... I don't understand why people still like networkmanager, since it is buggy and wicd works better... Yes, it's easier to use, and wicd is difficult to get used to, but after a few clicks I learned how to work with it, it's not that hard...
    I learned it in a matter of seconds... And you are the one who introduced me to it.. It's really like the most complete noob friendly wireless app for BT4...
    "If it's stupid but works, it's not stupid." - Murphy's Laws of combat, #2

  6. #6

    Default

    "/etc/init.d/wicd start"< bt4 pre final / bt4 beta > "/etc/init.d/NetworkManager start" (dont forget the capitalized letters)

    Works ?
    :cool:
    :cool:
    Alienware M17x - Intel Core 2 Quad Extreme QX9300
    Dual Nvidia GeForce GTX 280M GPUs
    8GB DDR3-1333 RAM
    Dual 500GB
    :cool:
    :cool:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •