Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: MAC spoofing: Authenticate Failure

  1. #1
    drijointz
    Guest

    Default MAC spoofing: Authenticate Failure

    I am trying to associate with an AP that stubbornly refuses to authenticate even when I spoof the MAC of previously associated client. All I get is:

    18:10:07 Sending Authentication Request (Open System)
    18:10:07 AP rejects the source MAC address (00:11:22:33:44:55) ?
    Authentication failed (code 1)

    How can the AP be rejecting the MAC from a previously associated client?

  2. #2
    Very good friend of the forum Gitsnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Crystal Wind
    Posts
    851

    Default

    What security settings do you have turned on on your AP? There are a couple of reasons you will be seeing this, but to answer it concisely would require some more information.

    I am assuming WEP, but you know what they say about assumptions...
    Still not underestimating the power...

    There is no such thing as bad information - There is truth in the data, so you sift it all, even the crap stuff.

  3. #3
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default

    The previously associated client was 00:11:22:33:44:55 ?
    Or you just use that as an example.. in any case is not a MAC addy you would normally get.

    In any case the response you're getting is showing that that MAC address is not on the allowed list.

    So in your router settings verify whether the MAC address as above is in fact allowed.

  4. #4
    drijointz
    Guest

    Default

    Yeah that MAC is just an example. The AP is WEP and the MAC I'm spoofing is allowed.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drijointz View Post
    Yeah that MAC is just an example. The AP is WEP and the MAC I'm spoofing is allowed.

    is the signal weak?

  6. #6
    Member zWiReDz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Try randomizing your mac maybe? Macchanger -r (NetworkInterface)
    "If it's stupid but works, it's not stupid." - Murphy's Laws of combat, #2

  7. #7
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drijointz View Post
    I am trying to associate with an AP that stubbornly refuses to authenticate even when I spoof the MAC of previously associated client. All I get is:

    18:10:07 Sending Authentication Request (Open System)
    18:10:07 AP rejects the source MAC address (00:11:22:33:44:55) ?
    Authentication failed (code 1)

    How can the AP be rejecting the MAC from a previously associated client?
    Can you put your mac in the allowed MAC's list?

  8. #8
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default

    Is mac filtering actually even activated on your router ?

    How many dhcp users you have authorized ?

    You making sure the previous client is still not connected ?

  9. #9
    Member zWiReDz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by =TAPE= View Post
    Is mac filtering actually even activated on your router ?

    How many dhcp users you have authorized ?

    You making sure the previous client is still not connected ?
    Yeahh, good idea. Try deleting all DHCP users then try connecting.
    "If it's stupid but works, it's not stupid." - Murphy's Laws of combat, #2

  10. #10
    drijointz
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by =TAPE= View Post
    Is mac filtering actually even activated on your router ?

    How many dhcp users you have authorized ?

    You making sure the previous client is still not connected ?
    The signal is strong. Randomizing the MAC address doesn't work. No clients are connected. MAC filtering shouldn't really be an issue since the spoofed MAC is a previously associated one. If only one dhcp user is authorized surely I should still be able to spoof when there isn't a client connected. Hmm..maybe there was a wired connection at the time, didn't think to check. Maybe dhcp is disabled. Any way I have some more options to look into...thanks all!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •