Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: smcwpci-g SMC branded

  1. #1
    Junior Member timcki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    30

    Default smcwpci-g SMC branded

    Well this card was on the hcl list with an atheros chipset
    but it seems to have the rtl 8180 chipset on it

    maybe a revision 2 card??

    ifconfig -a shows it as wlan0
    airdriver-ng detect sees it and identifies the chipset
    lspci even sees it
    Interface Chipset Driver

    wlan0 RTL8180/RTL8185 rtl8180 - [phy0]


    ifconfig wlan0 (ip.ip.ip.ip)... locks up the machine hard

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    I dunno where you picked up model wpci-g as atheros from the old wiki, its not even listed on the wiki.

    Otherwise, the interface may needed to be manually brought up first before an address can be set..

    Check your /var/log/ directory for any messages or any previous logged messages in regards to the exact cause of the lockups.

  3. #3
    Junior Member timcki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    30

    Default

    HCL list
    2.1.15 on that list....

    this is a snippit from that page....

    Netgear WPN311

    * Driver : Madwifi-ng
    * Chipset : Atheros
    * External Antenna: RP-SMA Connector

    Works great out of the box including injection.


    SMC SMCWPCI-G

    * Chipset : Atheros
    * Antenna Type : External SMA (detachable)
    * Operating Range :

    • Outdoors up to 1.312ft / 400m
    • Indoors up to 328ft / 100m

    Works great out of the box including injection
    Mini PCI (Built in)

    Broadcom BCM4306 802.11b/g (rev 3)

    Took the card out...
    Inspected it and found
    RTL8185L stamped on the main chip

    card itself:
    M01-WPG25-E10
    GT 3V-0
    94V-0

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    ok, my bad, probably smc is either dodgy or the user did not give out enough information.

    Best option is instead of poking around, I'd refund that one for another one that's supported or something.

    In theory that chipset should work but I do not know the monitor or injection capabilities as I personally do not own that card let alone the chipset.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by timcki View Post
    HCL list
    2.1.15 on that list....

    this is a snippit from that page....

    Netgear WPN311

    * Driver : Madwifi-ng
    * Chipset : Atheros
    * External Antenna: RP-SMA Connector

    Works great out of the box including injection.


    SMC SMCWPCI-G

    * Chipset : Atheros
    * Antenna Type : External SMA (detachable)
    * Operating Range :

    • Outdoors up to 1.312ft / 400m
    • Indoors up to 328ft / 100m

    Works great out of the box including injection
    Mini PCI (Built in)

    Broadcom BCM4306 802.11b/g (rev 3)

    Took the card out...
    Inspected it and found
    RTL8185L stamped on the main chip

    card itself:
    M01-WPG25-E10
    GT 3V-0
    94V-0
    Greetings:

    New to the forum and not sure if it is appropriate to contact you this way... I have the Atheros 5001X card in my Toshiba A40. Driver is installed and it is recognized in the device manager. I can find no user interface to go along with it. Driver version is 4.1.2.133 Calls to Atheros were useless. Looking for whatever additional software is required to make this thing work.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by philpense View Post
    Greetings:

    New to the forum and not sure if it is appropriate to contact you this way... I have the Atheros 5001X card in my Toshiba A40. Driver is installed and it is recognized in the device manager. I can find no user interface to go along with it. Driver version is 4.1.2.133 Calls to Atheros were useless. Looking for whatever additional software is required to make this thing work.
    You're thread hijacking, not ideal :P

    The drivers are already included in bt4 and bt3 so there's no need for additional drivers/software.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •