Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Wifi0 and ath0

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default Wifi0 and ath0

    I am trying to crack a WEP.

    Airmon-ng gives me two interfaces
    wifi0 - madwifi-ng
    ath0 - madwifi-ng VAP (parent: wifi0)

    Now I want to change the mac before I start, so do I airmon-ng stop wifi0 or airmon-ng stop ath0 ? And ifconfig wifi0 down or ifconfig ath0 down ? Then I do airmon-ng start wifi0.

    Anyway say I dont want to fake the mac and try it without it.
    When I do airodump-ng ath0 I get
    ioctl(SIOCSIWMODE) failed: Invalid argument.....Make sure RFMON is enabled.... (too much to copy)
    Airodump-ng wifi0 brings up just a blank console.

    I don't know where to go from here, I think I am just doing something wrong. I would appreciate any help, thank you.

  2. #2
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Why do you want to change the mac?
    Not your WEP?

    Yeah it is important to know as it will have influence on the way to go.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I just want to spoof my mac before I crack the WEP, just incase. I tried to skip that for now, but it still wont work.

  4. #4
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Still not answered, is it your WEP or one you are trying it with you found being around?
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Number1 View Post
    I just want to spoof my mac before I crack the WEP, just incase. I tried to skip that for now, but it still wont work.
    You have to spoof the tunneling feature too if you want to pwn someone without being found.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Sorry KMdave I just understood what you meant. Yea it's my WEP. I saw the macchanger and I wanted to try it. I tried skipping that step since it's not that important right now, but i'm still having problems.

    Here is what I did:

    Code:
    bt ~ # airmon-ng
    
    
    Interface       Chipset         Driver
    
    wifi0           Atheros         madwifi-ng
    ath0            Atheros         madwifi-ng VAP (parent: wifi0)
    
    bt ~ # airmon-ng stop ath0
    
    
    Interface       Chipset         Driver
    
    wifi0           Atheros         madwifi-ng
    ath0            Atheros         madwifi-ng VAP (parent: wifi0) (VAP destroyed)
    
    bt ~ # ifconfig wifi0 down
    bt ~ # macchanger --mac 00:11:22:33:44:55 wifi0
    Current MAC: 00:35:21:b2:91:af (unknown)
    Faked MAC:   00:11:22:33:44:55 (Cimsys Inc)
    bt ~ # airmon-ng start wifi0
    
    
    Interface       Chipset         Driver
    
    wifi0           Atheros         madwifi-ng
    ath0            Atheros         madwifi-ng VAP (parent: wifi0) (monitor mode enabled)
    
    bt ~ # airodump-ng ath0
    
    
    
    
    --------
    
    Without changing mac:
    
    bt ~ # airodump-ng ath0
    ioctl(SIOCSIWMODE) failed: Invalid argument
    
    ARP linktype is set to 1 (Ethernet) - expected ARPHRD_IEEE80211,
    ARPHRD_IEEE80211_FULL or ARPHRD_IEEE80211_PRISM instead.  Make
    sure RFMON is enabled: run 'airmon-ng start ath0 <#>'
    Sysfs injection support was not found either.
    
    ________
    I tried using SpoonWEP but it took forever to collect the IV's so I gave up on that.

    I'm pretty sure my card is compatable because I looked it up. But does this mean I can't do packet injections?

    Why does my post keep getting burried into the 8th page all the time, I'm sure someone here is smart enough to firgure this out

  7. #7
    Very good friend of the forum Gitsnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Crystal Wind
    Posts
    851

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Number1 View Post
    Why does my post keep getting burried into the 8th page all the time, I'm sure someone here is smart enough to firgure this out
    As am I, yet I can't help thinking you tacked the "my own network" thing onto the end. But hey, I'm probably not one of them so...

    In case I am wrong, I will direct you to take a closer look at your interfaces, in my case (EeePC 701 + Atheros), the following commands are enough:

    Code:
    airmon-stop ath0
    airmon-start wifi0
    I don't put an ifconfig in there anywhere.
    Still not underestimating the power...

    There is no such thing as bad information - There is truth in the data, so you sift it all, even the crap stuff.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Number1 View Post
    Why does my post keep getting burried into the 8th page all the time, I'm sure someone here is smart enough to firgure this out
    Please explain what you mean a little bit better and maybe we can help you out.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Ok I dont want to start and stop my wifi. When I do airodump-ng ath0 no wireless networks show up at all. Would anyone be willing to help me with this on an instant messanger or a chat?

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    number 1 i have an athheros chipset too,and the way i've found to put it in monitor mode is the following commands:
    1.wlanconfig ath0 destroy
    2.iwconfig
    3.wlanconfig ath0 create wlandev wifi0 wlanmode monitor
    4.iwconfig
    The last one shows me that ath0 is in monitor mode and active!
    I wish it will work to you too.
    since i have problem with aircrack finding the injected packets i wish good luck to both of us!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •