Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to connect to wireless wpa network?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    47

    Default How to connect to wireless wpa network?

    hi guys,

    i am a newbi,

    i am trying to connect to my wireless wpa network i have tried everything i can think of please help

    i am using backtrack 4 beta

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The new forums
    Posts
    462

    Default

    Take a look at wpa_supplicant

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Before typing "startx" type the following:
    update-rc.d wicd defaults

    Now startx and open a terminal window then type:
    /etc/init.d/networking start
    ifconfig YourNetworkDeviceHere up (this may not be required, but I did it anyway)

    As root go into Wicd and find your network. To the left of the network's name you should see an arrow. Click on that arrow and select Advanced Settings. Make sure "Use Encryption" is checked, select WPA from the list, type in your key (click the checkbox next to where you type in the key to actually see the key rather than the dots), then click OK. Now click the connect button and you should be all set.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    332

    Default

    You should also pay attention on where you post. This is a how-to section used for submitting how-to's, not for asking for them. Use the newbie area, or even better search the forum. This topic has been discussed many times.
    SecurityTube has two new sections. Questions & News

  5. #5
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by #mfBaranian# View Post
    You should also pay attention on where you post. This is a how-to section used for submitting how-to's, not for asking for them. Use the newbie area, or even better search the forum. This topic has been discussed many, many, many, many times.
    Fixed that for you.

  6. #6
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    As mentioned before, start to read where you post. Next time I will move these kinds of threads being posted in the wrong section because of not reading the section description to another place.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    332

    Default

    Thanks Barry. Those indeed were my thoughts exactly.
    SecurityTube has two new sections. Questions & News

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •