Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Anybody able to boot straight into KDE?

  1. #1
    Very good friend of the forum Virchanza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    863

    Default Anybody able to boot straight into KDE?

    I thought I would just change my runlevel, but it turns out Ubuntu doesn't have an "inittab" file. So I do some web searching, and I learn that Ubuntu uses something called "Upstart" instead of using the init system ???

    I've also tried adding a number to the end of my kernel in my grub file:

    Code:
    /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.29.4 root=/dev/sda3 ro quiet splash 5
    (Notice the 5 at the end)

    But that had no effect, it still booted into the command line. (And yes I did run grub-install afterwards).

    Can someone put me out of my misery please? How can I get BT4-PreFinal to boot straight into KDE?
    Ask questions on the open forums, that way everybody benefits from the solution, and everybody can be corrected when they make mistakes. Don't send me private messages asking questions that should be asked on the open forums, I won't respond. I decline all "Friend Requests".

  2. #2
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install kdm
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  3. #3
    Very good friend of the forum Virchanza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    863

    Default

    kdm-kde3 ...unless of course you want to install 40 megabytes of stuff to do with KDE4
    Ask questions on the open forums, that way everybody benefits from the solution, and everybody can be corrected when they make mistakes. Don't send me private messages asking questions that should be asked on the open forums, I won't respond. I decline all "Friend Requests".

  4. #4
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Virchanza View Post
    kdm-kde3 ...unless of course you want to install 40 megabytes of stuff to do with KDE4
    Sorry, that was the command that I used in BT4 Beta. Im assuming that the repositories used by PreFinal consider kde 4 as the default kde version?
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  5. #5
    Very good friend of the forum Virchanza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    863

    Default

    No, I tried it just there, it tries to get the KDE4 version unless you explicitly specify "-kde3".

    Anyway, here's what I get after it installed:

    Code:
    Install these packages without verification [y/N]? y
    Preconfiguring packages ...
    Selecting previously deselected package kdm-kde3.
    (Reading database ... 201395 files and directories currently installed.)
    Unpacking kdm-kde3 (from .../kdm-kde3_4%3a3.5.10-0ubuntu4~intrepid9_i386.deb) ...
    Processing triggers for man-db ...
    Setting up kdm-kde3 (4:3.5.10-0ubuntu4~intrepid9) ...
    cat: /etc/X11/default-display-manager: No such file or directory
    /var/lib/dpkg/info/kdm-kde3.postinst: line 16: [: =: unary operator expected
    Doesn't look healthy.
    Ask questions on the open forums, that way everybody benefits from the solution, and everybody can be corrected when they make mistakes. Don't send me private messages asking questions that should be asked on the open forums, I won't respond. I decline all "Friend Requests".

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    So, were you able to convince BT4 to boot directly into KDE?

    Did I understand correctly that a complete kde3-install via apt-get should make it possible?! That sounds a bit like an overkill to me...

    Any help is greatly appreciated!

    Greetz,
    Tom

  7. #7
    Very good friend of the forum Virchanza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    863

    Default

    All you need to do is:

    Code:
    apt-get install kdm-kde3
    Next time you boot up, it'll go straight into KDE.
    Ask questions on the open forums, that way everybody benefits from the solution, and everybody can be corrected when they make mistakes. Don't send me private messages asking questions that should be asked on the open forums, I won't respond. I decline all "Friend Requests".

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •