Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Belkin F5D8011

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default Belkin F5D8011

    Hello all I am just now getting into the backtrack software and seem to like it so far. I have a couple of questions if someone is willing to help out I would appreciate it. Ok I have the current Belkin F5D8011 ver. 1000 and have backtrack 4 on a bootable disk. I am tryin to find out if this card will be able to work as I saw there was an older model card that was listed. If so which actual drivers would i need to get for this card and would I put the drivers on the disk so I am able to get to them that way?

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Don't know about F5D8011 ver. 1000 but my Belkin N1 F5D8011 168c:0023 works fine.
    As for driver is used ath9k which is also included in latest BT.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gabiz_ro View Post
    Don't know about F5D8011 ver. 1000 but my Belkin N1 F5D8011 168c:0023 works fine.
    As for driver is used ath9k which is also included in latest BT.
    Ok I noticed you have the same model but where did you find the extra numbers that you have? I don't see any other numbers really on the card. Here is a link to the card I have just ver 1000 hxxp://ttt.belkin.com/support/product/?lid=en&pid=F5D8011&scid=221

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default

    lspci command or in windows in device manager hardware id

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gabiz_ro View Post
    lspci command or in windows in device manager hardware id

    Ok here is my info and looks like it might be the same


    PCI\VEN_168C&DEV_0023&SUBSYS_80111799&REV_01
    PCI\VEN_168C&DEV_0023&SUBSYS_80111799
    PCI\VEN_168C&DEV_0023&CC_020000
    PCI\VEN_168C&DEV_0023&CC_0200


    So how would I go about installing the drivers for this?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Whitey View Post
    So how would I go about installing the drivers for this?
    Try here
    Compiling and installing software from source in Linux
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by archangel.amael View Post
    Try here
    Compiling and installing software from source in Linux

    I am guessing this is if I have downloaded the drivers and have the actual file? Which I don't As was stated by gabiz_ro he used the drivers of ath9k which is also included in latest BT. So how about would I go about installing if the drivers are already on my hd in bt4? Or will your source still work for that and I run the same commands?


    Also I tried this

    ath9k is in the kernel already so modprobe works. to go from boot to connection, use:

    modprobe ath9k
    /etc/init.d/NetworkManager start
    startx


    when I do the /etc/init.d/NetworkManager start I get

    -bash: /etc/init.d/NetworkManager: No such file or directory

    so not sure what to do from here?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Whitey View Post
    ath9k is in the kernel already so modprobe works. to go from boot to connection, use:
    modprobe ath9k
    /etc/init.d/NetworkManager start
    startx
    when I do the /etc/init.d/NetworkManager start I get
    -bash: /etc/init.d/NetworkManager: No such file or directory
    so not sure what to do from here?
    Generally if the driver is apart of the distro it will be accessed as a module by the kernel, as such modeprobe may be of help.
    See also modprobe(8): add/remove modules from Kernel - Linux man page
    Next up, the command is
    /etc/init.d/networking start your syntax above is wrong that is the reason for the bash error.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    What do you mean by my syntax is wrong?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Whitey View Post
    What do you mean by my syntax is wrong?
    google = syntax
    LEARN THE NET: Glossary: Syntax Error

    /etc/init.d/NetworkManager start is what you wrote above
    /etc/init.d/networking start is the correct way.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •