Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: BT4 Network problem

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default BT4 Network problem

    Hi

    I have installed bt4, and now i cant start the network.
    It says it fails and i cant start it.
    Anyone got any idea?

  2. #2
    Very good friend of the forum Virchanza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    863

    Default

    You gave zero information so I haven't a clue what went wrong. Tell us what commands you used and what the output of those commands were.

    In the meantime, this might help:

    Linux Internet Connection - Virjacode
    Ask questions on the open forums, that way everybody benefits from the solution, and everybody can be corrected when they make mistakes. Don't send me private messages asking questions that should be asked on the open forums, I won't respond. I decline all "Friend Requests".

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO falcaun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    9

    Smile

    I use KDE to get my wireless network connection:
    root@bt:~# startx
    Then click on the K Menu (left most icon on the left corner of the screen).
    Then Services > NETWORK > Start NETWORK
    Then on the K Menu again: Internet > Wicd Network Manager, then find your router and click the small arrow, click on Advanced Setting select your encryption on the right side down arrow. Type in you password then OK, then click Connect.
    Hope it worked.
    I always have troubles with command line internet connection.

    falcaun

  4. #4
    Very good friend of the forum Virchanza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    863

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by falcaun View Post
    I always have troubles with command line internet connection.
    What problems do you have?

    Here's an example of a script I have in my home folder, I use it for connecting to the internet at home:

    Code:
    airmon-ng stop wlan0
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    ifconfig wlan0 hw ether 00:01:02:03:04:05
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    iwconfig wlan0 essid Chocolate key 1000020000
    ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.123 netmask 255.255.255.0
    route add default gateway 192.168.1.1
    echo nameserver 208.67.222.222 > /etc/resolv.conf
    I'd be very interested to hear which part of it fails for you... because it should work fine, you can't get more basic than using these commands.
    Ask questions on the open forums, that way everybody benefits from the solution, and everybody can be corrected when they make mistakes. Don't send me private messages asking questions that should be asked on the open forums, I won't respond. I decline all "Friend Requests".

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default

    I used /etc/init.d/wicd start Failed
    /etc/init.d/network start dosent exist
    /etc/init.d/networking start wont work becuse of permisson error

    thats the commands i used, ive tried them both before and after i used startx command

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO falcaun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    9

    Thumbs up

    Virchanza,

    Thank you for the wireless internet connection script. I will try on my system.

    I have some curiosity questions:
    Why do we need airmong-ng to stop wlan0 and ifconfig to bring it down as well?
    I assume that the MAC address 00:01:02:03:04:05 it is just an example; I should use my real MAC address?
    And ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.123 is the wlan0 IP address found by typing ifconfig alone?

    Also, is there any header in your script?

    Thks,

    falcaun

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Therax View Post
    I used /etc/init.d/wicd start Failed
    /etc/init.d/network start dosent exist
    /etc/init.d/networking start wont work becuse of permisson error

    thats the commands i used, ive tried them both before and after i used startx command
    I have a stupid question, but are starting wicd as root? Meaning are you using sudo?

  8. #8
    Very good friend of the forum Virchanza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    863

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Therax View Post
    I used /etc/init.d/wicd start Failed
    /etc/init.d/network start dosent exist
    /etc/init.d/networking start wont work becuse of permisson error

    thats the commands i used, ive tried them both before and after i used startx command
    I've never used wicd, all I know is it's some sort of network manager, which I have no need for.

    When you said you were having problems at the command line, I thought you actually meant using the built-in networking functionality of the Linux kernel (iwconfig, ifconfig, route, resolv.conf)

    @falcaun

    Did you read the link I posted above? It will tell you everything you need to know.

    The call to "airmon-ng stop wlan0" is to put the card in Managed Mode (just in case it's currently in Monitor Mode).

    I take the network card down before changing its MAC because I think some network cards require you to do that.

    It's not necessary to change your MAC before connecting to an access point unless the following two are true:
    1) The access point has MAC filtering
    2) Your current MAC address is not on the filter's Allow List.

    And ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.123 is the wlan0 IP address found by typing ifconfig alone?
    Re-write that question, I can't make any sense of it.

    Also, is there any header in your script?
    It's the entire contexts of a text file I have in my home folder. I know nothing about scripting.
    Ask questions on the open forums, that way everybody benefits from the solution, and everybody can be corrected when they make mistakes. Don't send me private messages asking questions that should be asked on the open forums, I won't respond. I decline all "Friend Requests".

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Therax View Post
    I used /etc/init.d/wicd start Failed
    /etc/init.d/network start dosent exist
    /etc/init.d/networking start wont work becuse of permisson error

    thats the commands i used, ive tried them both before and after i used startx command
    The command "/etc/init.d/network start" will never work since as you have stated it does not exist.
    As for "/etc/init.d/networking start" not working, again it will not work because the user does not have permission to run a daemon on the system.
    Either give sudo command or log in as root and start it.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Will try again but as i understand you always log in as root.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •