Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Problem with Repository

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Problem with Repository

    To Repo Maintainers:
    As the titled stated I had some problem with the repo,
    While trying to apt-get some packages I got several errors, output as follows:

    Code:
    Failed to fetch http://archive.offensive-security.com/pool/main/libx/libxinerama/libxinerama-dev_1.0.3-2_i386.dev Hash Sum mismatch
    
    Failed to fetch http://archive.offensive-security.com/pool/main/x/x11proto-randr/x11proto-randr-dev_1.2.2-1_all.dev Got a single header line over 360 chars
    
    Failed to fetch http://archive.offensive-security.com/pool/main/libx/libxrandr/libxandr-dev_1.2.3-1_i386.dev Bad header line 
    
    Failed to fetch http://archive.offensive-security.com/pool/main/b/bzr/bzr_1.6.1-1_i386.deb Hash Sum mismatch

    Output also mentioned using apt-get update or --fix-missing
    This naturally did not work.
    I don't believe a mismatched hash sum can be over ridden.
    As for the Bad header line, It seems that it is a problem with the mirrors.
    Source list is default, for pre-final.
    Changing source mirrors can solve both problems.
    Not the best way maybe but a way.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  2. #2
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    archangel.amael Thanks for the post, I cant seem to recreate the error. Can you tell me exactly what package you were trying to apt-get whn this happened. I apt-geted each one and the all work fine except libxandr-dev which it said didnt exist. There is only one repo mirror at the moment so that cant be the issue. Also you probably don't want to change the source line because that will most likely break stuff. The packages under /main are the ones that we get from the main repo so those are not ours. How mny times have you tried this also? its possible you caught the repo in a sync or something when the files were changing?
    Code:
    root@backtrack:~# apt-get install libxinerama-dev
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree       
    Reading state information... Done
    The following extra packages will be installed:
      x11proto-xinerama-dev
    The following NEW packages will be installed:
      libxinerama-dev x11proto-xinerama-dev
    0 upgraded, 2 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    Need to get 17.4kB of archives.
    After this operation, 143kB of additional disk space will be used.
    Do you want to continue [Y/n]? y
    Get:1 http://archive.offensive-security.com pwnsauce/main x11proto-xinerama-dev 1.1.2-5ubuntu1 [5772B]
    Get:2 http://archive.offensive-security.com pwnsauce/main libxinerama-dev 2:1.0.3-2 [11.7kB]
    Fetched 17.4kB in 0s (42.4kB/s)             
    Selecting previously deselected package x11proto-xinerama-dev.
    (Reading database ... 185176 files and directories currently installed.)
    Unpacking x11proto-xinerama-dev (from .../x11proto-xinerama-dev_1.1.2-5ubuntu1_all.deb) ...
    Selecting previously deselected package libxinerama-dev.
    Unpacking libxinerama-dev (from .../libxinerama-dev_2%3a1.0.3-2_i386.deb) ...
    Processing triggers for man-db ...
    Setting up x11proto-xinerama-dev (1.1.2-5ubuntu1) ...
    Setting up libxinerama-dev (2:1.0.3-2) ...
    root@backtrack:~# apt-get install x11proto-randr-dev
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree       
    Reading state information... Done
    The following NEW packages will be installed:
      x11proto-randr-dev
    0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    Need to get 29.5kB of archives.
    After this operation, 106kB of additional disk space will be used.
    Get:1 http://archive.offensive-security.com pwnsauce/main x11proto-randr-dev 1.2.2-1 [29.5kB]
    Fetched 29.5kB in 0s (81.8kB/s)           
    Selecting previously deselected package x11proto-randr-dev.
    (Reading database ... 185195 files and directories currently installed.)
    Unpacking x11proto-randr-dev (from .../x11proto-randr-dev_1.2.2-1_all.deb) ...
    Setting up x11proto-randr-dev (1.2.2-1) ...
    root@backtrack:~# apt-get install libxandr-dev      
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree       
    Reading state information... Done
    E: Couldn't find package libxandr-dev
    root@backtrack:~# apt-get install bzr         
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree       
    Reading state information... Done
    The following extra packages will be installed:
      bzrtools python-paramiko
    Suggested packages:
      bzr-gtk bzr-svn librsvg2-bin
    The following NEW packages will be installed:
      bzr bzrtools python-paramiko
    0 upgraded, 3 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    Need to get 4982kB of archives.
    After this operation, 17.0MB of additional disk space will be used.
    Do you want to continue [Y/n]? 
    Get:1 http://archive.offensive-security.com pwnsauce/main bzr 1.6.1-1 [4795kB]
    Get:2 http://archive.offensive-security.com pwnsauce/main bzrtools 1.6.0-1 [60.6kB]                                                        
    Get:3 http://archive.offensive-security.com pwnsauce/main python-paramiko 1.7.4-0.1 [126kB]                                                
    Fetched 4982kB in 8s (623kB/s)                                                                                                             
    Selecting previously deselected package bzr.
    (Reading database ... 185203 files and directories currently installed.)
    Unpacking bzr (from .../archives/bzr_1.6.1-1_i386.deb) ...
    Selecting previously deselected package bzrtools.
    Unpacking bzrtools (from .../bzrtools_1.6.0-1_all.deb) ...
    Selecting previously deselected package python-paramiko.
    Unpacking python-paramiko (from .../python-paramiko_1.7.4-0.1_all.deb) ...
    Processing triggers for man-db ...
    Setting up bzr (1.6.1-1) ...
    
    Setting up bzrtools (1.6.0-1) ...
    
    Setting up python-paramiko (1.7.4-0.1) ...
    
    Processing triggers for python-support ...
    root@backtrack:~#

  3. #3
    Very good friend of the forum Virchanza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    863

    Default

    Out of curiosity, did anyone every figure out what happened with kcalc-kde3... it seemed to install but then there was no trace of it
    Ask questions on the open forums, that way everybody benefits from the solution, and everybody can be corrected when they make mistakes. Don't send me private messages asking questions that should be asked on the open forums, I won't respond. I decline all "Friend Requests".

  4. #4
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    Works perfectly in bt4 pre final which is what every one should be using. Its 100 times more stable than the beta.


  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post
    Works perfectly in bt4 pre final which is what every one should be using. Its 100 times more stable than the beta.....
    Cant wait to try spoonwep-2.0-bt0 from the repo..
    "If it doesn't sleep, doesn't eat, doesn't take **** breaks and plays poker 24 hours a day - it's a bot!"

  6. #6
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 3z___ View Post
    Cant wait to try spoonwep-2.0-bt0 from the repo..
    Yeah I'm working on getting them in there in the next day or so.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post
    archangel.amael Thanks for the post, I cant seem to recreate the error. Can you tell me exactly what package you were trying to apt-get whn this happened.
    The listed packages were the ones that I was trying to get.

    [/quote] How mny times have you tried this also? its possible you caught the repo in a sync or something when the files were changing?[/quote]
    I tried 4 times before switching repos. All 4 times I received the same error.
    Although it was all done in a matter of about 30 minutes.
    It figures that this would be an error that only I was experiencing.

    BTW is there a way for one to know if the repo is syncing?
    I might give it ago later on and see if the same thing happens.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  8. #8
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    Well Im no repo expert I was just making a assumption. If possible could you try it again from our repo. Its hard to file a bug as you know if I cant recreate the problem.

  9. #9
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    OK so I have some official words from the repo maintainers.

    What happened is like I figured, You tried to update while we were updating. There seems to be no set time of day for this. I was told we only do it when we need it so... If this happens again to anyone again a update can take from 5 to 25 mins so just kick back and then try again in a little while.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post
    OK so I have some official words from the repo maintainers.

    What happened is like I figured, You tried to update while we were updating. There seems to be no set time of day for this. I was told we only do it when we need it so... If this happens again to anyone again a update can take from 5 to 25 mins so just kick back and then try again in a little while.
    Tried again late last night / early this morning and then got the same thing.
    I didn't want to post until I tried again with a clean install and well it worked out. Then I went back onto the other install and did it and it worked both times.
    Maybe you are right and I caught them at the right ( read= wrong) time, during a repo uprgrade or sync or whatever.

    I guess you can close this one.

    Thanks Pureh@te.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •