Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: resize the capacity of BT4 VMware version

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    17

    Red face resize the capacity of BT4 VMware version

    hello

    i need to change the capacity size of the BT4 vmware version from 8 GB to 20 GB

    i need complete steps how to do that

    thank alot
    [CENTER][COLOR="Red"] :: iF YOu hAvE nO iDeA aBoUt mE, pReSS F1 fOr hElP :D :: [/COLOR][/CENTER]

  2. #2
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Google for it, there are commandline tools to increase the size of a virtual disk.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  3. #3
    Jenkem Addict imported_wyze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,543

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -=DDOS=- View Post
    hello

    i need to change the capacity size of the BT4 vmware version from 8 GB to 20 GB

    i need complete steps how to do that

    thank alot
    Also, what type of filesystem is it? (Ext2/3/4 should be no problem to expand after the vm is expanded using resize2fs, but you have to remove the journal first it's journaled).

    Like KMDave says, search for it.
    dd if=/dev/swc666 of=/dev/wyze

  4. #4
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Well sometimes I think people are even to lazy to read.

    The Howto section is NOT for asking how to do some stuff.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  5. #5
    Jenkem Addict imported_wyze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,543

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KMDave View Post
    Well sometimes I think people are even to lazy to read.

    The Howto section is NOT for asking how to do some stuff.
    Ha! True indeed, but I fear that there are those with lesser engrish skills that misread it (we've all seen posts over the years, like "How to get BTx installed on USB?")

    ...although I have doubts that even if the sub-forums were renamed to something like Guides or Tutorials, people would just find a way to fsck it up just the same
    dd if=/dev/swc666 of=/dev/wyze

  6. #6
    Good friend of the forums
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    356

    Default

    <spoon>after you increase the size of the partition using vmware's command line tools (with the machine POWERED OFF!), you boot up the vm from live cd iso of gparted. And increase teh partition up to the free space.
    </takes_spoon_back>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •