Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Cant see anything in Storage Media folder

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    7

    Default

    When i load BT4 Beta on my Usb ,
    i go to Storage media in konquer but the folder is empty, no Usb device or anything.


    edit:
    Ok i found in mnt/sdb my Usb Device where BT4 is booted from.
    So thats for me ok.

    But just wanna say there will not rise a Usb device in storage media folder. with several USB sticks (flashdrives)

  2. #2

    Default

    i dont understand what you are asking here. are u asking why your usb doesnt show in Storage media?
    Until they become conscious they will never rebel, and until after they have rebelled they cannot become conscious...

  3. #3
    Good friend of the forums
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    356

    Default

    that is, because some usb sticks have the usb removable storage bit removed. I have not yet find a way to set it on or off reliably.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by Tantatium View Post
    When i load BT4 Beta on my Usb ,
    i go to Storage media in konquer but the folder is empty, no Usb device or anything.

    Ok i found in mnt/sdb my Usb Device where BT4 is booted from.
    So thats for me ok.

    But just wanna say there will not rise a Usb device in storage media folder. with several USB sticks (flashdrives)
    I know exactly what you're talking about. I have the same problem. I don't know a "fix" for it, but all I did to get all my drives to be displayed is click on the "Reload the currently displayed document" icon. It's the orange icon with the arrow pointing up and to the left.

    I haven't tried to reboot and see if it was a permanent "fix" but I know it works for the current session.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I have the same issue, but it's really a non-issue. Just click the reload button and they all show up. If it matters at all (probably doesn't), I am running BT4 off a 4GB SD card with an extra partition for saving changes. It works like a charm.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    23

    Default

    i got this problem too
    Can't use USB or CD-DVD when you are using backtrack

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    install disk-manager and make mount for every thing cd usb fashmomary

  8. #8
    Very good friend of the forum Virchanza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    863

    Default

    I have a hard-disk installation of BT4beta, and I still have to hit "Reload" when I go into Storage Media in order to get any drives to show up.
    Ask questions on the open forums, that way everybody benefits from the solution, and everybody can be corrected when they make mistakes. Don't send me private messages asking questions that should be asked on the open forums, I won't respond. I decline all "Friend Requests".

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Same here i have to hit reload to get them to show up No biggie

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    13

    Default

    open /etc/fstab file and change mnt -> media



    for example
    before:

    /dev/sda3 /mnt/sda3 reiserfs auto,noatime,users,suid,dev,exec 0 0 # AutoUpdate



    after


    /dev/sda3 /media/sda3 reiserfs auto,noatime,users,suid,dev,exec 0 0 # AutoUpdate


    now you see the devices

    (creating the /media/sda3 first)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •