Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: wpa_supplicant.conf format

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    81

    Default wpa_supplicant.conf format

    I'm using a known good wireless card
    This is how I formatted the config:
    network={essid="dlink" key_mgmt=WPA-PSK proto=WPA pairwise=TKIP group=TKIP psk"password"}
    .
    My command: wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -cwpa_supplicant

    But it tells me that configuration is wrong but every site that I have been gives it in the same way.

  2. #2
    Member imported_vvpalin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    442

    Default

    This is directly from my wpa.conf that i created with my script in the tut section.

    network={
    ssid="linkmode"
    #psk="tryandbreakthiskeyidareyou"
    psk=69bac4f202bb7b61ad78e447e3565ebc149d4e8970656e 5b6228dc0b34397b98
    }
    wpa_supplicant -c wep.conf -i wlan0 -Dwext -B

    It doesn't really matter what order the switches are btw.

    Also it took me about 3 days to learn about wpa_supplicant ... and sadly ive forgotten most of it by now.

    Edit: Watch some little skid put that pass in there dictionary now lol.
    Using backtrack for the first time is like being 10 years old again with the keys to a Ferrari.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vvpalin View Post
    Wpa_supplicant -c wep.conf -i wlan0 -Dwext -B

    Also it took me about 3 days to learn about wpa_supplicant ... and sadly ive forgotten most of it by now.
    I looked into the tut's and saw that for the configuration, you need the comments to be descending and not horizontal like I had it. Thanks for pointing me into that direction.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    have you guys tried

    Code:
    man wpa_supplicant.conf

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xnoor View Post
    have you guys tried

    Code:
    man wpa_supplicant.conf
    Yes, do you know how to power off your computer?

  6. #6
    Member imported_vvpalin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    442

    Default

    Please be nice.
    Using backtrack for the first time is like being 10 years old again with the keys to a Ferrari.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redhotfire View Post
    Yes, do you know how to power off your computer?
    You came here looking for information, as such all information given is done freely and out of the generosity of those who do.
    The man pages are an excellent source of info, so there really is not need for the silly comments in return.
    A simple yes I have read the man page but did not quite understand xyz, would have sufficed.
    Cheers
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by archangel.amael View Post
    A simple yes I have read the man page but did not quite understand xyz, would have sufficed.
    Cheers
    Silly is funny, and I believe it's idiotic to suggest it seeing as it was the first place I looked.

  9. #9
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vvpalin View Post
    This is directly from my wpa.conf that i created with my script in the tut section.



    wpa_supplicant -c wep.conf -i wlan0 -Dwext -B

    It doesn't really matter what order the switches are btw.

    Also it took me about 3 days to learn about wpa_supplicant ... and sadly ive forgotten most of it by now.

    Edit: Watch some little skid put that pass in there dictionary now lol.
    It's in mine now....
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  10. #10
    Senior Member Thorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Green Dome
    Posts
    1,509

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redhotfire View Post
    Yes, do you know how to power off your computer?
    Quote Originally Posted by redhotfire View Post
    Silly is funny, and I believe it's idiotic to suggest it seeing as it was the first place I looked.
    My, my. It would seem that you can give it out, but you can't take it.

    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/sho...307#post133307
    Thorn
    Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •