Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: ./configure error

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    153

    Default ./configure error

    Code:
    ...
    checking for KDE... configure: error:
    in the prefix, you've chosen, are no KDE libraries installed. This will fail.
    So, check this please and use another prefix!
    I seem to bump into this error when i type ./configure
    I am not sure what is causing this error? I am using BT4 Beta

    EDIT: By the way, i did google this problem, and i know this is a KDE error and i found some solutions that did not work. So i rather get some experts opinions.

  2. #2
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fossilk1 View Post
    Code:
    ...
    checking for KDE... configure: error:
    in the prefix, you've chosen, are no KDE libraries installed. This will fail.
    So, check this please and use another prefix!
    I seem to bump into this error when i type ./configure
    I am not sure what is causing this error? I am using BT4 Beta

    EDIT: By the way, i did google this problem, and i know this is a KDE error and i found some solutions that did not work. So i rather get some experts opinions.
    Hopefully you did a real install. Do an "apt-get install built-essential" first.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    Hopefully you did a real install. Do an "apt-get install built-essential" first.
    Kk i will try this right when i get home, Thank you for the reply.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Code:
    root@bt:~# apt-get install built-essential
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    E: Couldn't find package built-essential
    =\

  5. #5
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fossilk1 View Post
    Code:
    root@bt:~# apt-get install built-essential
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    E: Couldn't find package built-essential
    =\
    Oops! Typo, build-essential.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  6. #6

    Default

    It's "build-essential"

    For future reference, if you need to find a package, one of the ways you can do this is by going to http://packages.ubuntu.com and search for it.

    You can also use synaptic to find packages.

    EDIT: Barry beat me to it...sorry.

  7. #7
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cybrsnpr View Post
    It's "build-essential"

    For future reference, if you need to find a package, one of the ways you can do this is by going to http://packages.ubuntu.com and search for it.

    You can also use synaptic to find packages.

    EDIT: Barry beat me to it...sorry.
    That's cool, you added more info.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Code:
    apt-get install build-essential
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    build-essential is already the newest version.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 109 not upgraded.
    Looks like it is already installed? But i still get the same error message.

  9. #9
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Okay, you're missing the kde-dev libraries. Open up the package manager and look for kde. Whatever version you have installed you need the -dev package too.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •