Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [help needed] eeepc 1000hd no wireless

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6

    Exclamation [help needed] eeepc 1000hd no wireless

    hi everybody,
    i ve been reading the forum and using the search function, and i can t still figure out if it s possible to get the wifi working on an eeepc 100hd with bt4.
    do you guys have an answer or a tutorial somewhere.
    thxx for helping
    best regards

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    you could try my script out and edit it as necessary basically its a combination of things using iwconfig and wlanconfig check it and edited it where necessary like the filepath: /mnt/sdb1 is used because my bt4 is liveboot on my eeepc through usb


    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    echo "Lifi v.01 Apr 4,2009 -Rifken Technologies"
    echo "This version supports OPEN WEP WPA and WPA2-PSK Encrypted AccessPoints."
    echo -n "Press Any Key To Continue..."
    read continue
    echo "---------------------"
    echo "Bringing down the NIC"
    echo "---------------------"
    ifconfig ath0 down
    ifconfig wifi0 down
    echo "---------------"
    echo "Interfaces down"
    echo "---------------"
    echo "-"
    echo -n "Would you like to perform a random MAC spoof for your NIC? y/n: "
    read SPOOF
    if [ $SPOOF == "y" ]
    then
    	echo "Spoofing Mac Address for ath0:"
    	sleep 2
    	echo "------------------------------"
    	macchanger -r ath0
    	echo "------------------------------"
    	sleep 3
    	echo "-"
    	echo "Spoofing Mac address for wifi0:"
    	echo "-------------------------------"
    	macchanger -r wifi0
    	echo "-------------------------------"
    	sleep 2
    	echo "-"
    	echo "Mac Addresses have been spoofed"
    fi
    sleep 1
    ifconfig ath0 up
    ifconfig wifi0 up
    wlanconfig ath0 destroy
    ifconfig wifi0 down
    sleep 1
    wlanconfig ath0 create wlandev wifi0 wlanmode managed &
    sleep 1
    ifconfig ath0 up
    sleep 1
    ifconfig wifi0 up
    echo "-"
    echo "NIC has been brought up!"
    echo "-"
    echo "Scanning For Access Points"
    echo "--------------------------------------------------"
    sleep 4
    wlanconfig ath0 list ap
    sleep 6
    echo "--------------------------------------------------"
    echo -n "Choose ESSID: "
    read ESSID
    sleep 2
    echo "-"
    echo -n "Choose BSSID or type n: "
    read BSSID
    sleep 2
    echo "AP's Encryption: 'OPN' 'WEP' 'WPA'"
    echo -n "> "
    read ENC
    	if [ $ENC == "OPN" ]
    	then
    		if [ $BSSID != "n" ]	
    		then
    			echo "------------------------------------------------------------"
    			echo "Connecting to: OPEN AP '$ESSID' with MAC '$BSSID'"
    			echo "------------------------------------------------------------"
    			sleep 3
    			iwconfig ath0 essid '$ESSID' ap $BSSID
    		else
    			echo "------------------------------------------"
    			echo "Connecting to: OPEN AP '$ESSID'"
    			echo "------------------------------------------"
    			sleep 3
    			iwconfig ath0 essid '$ESSID'
    		fi
    	fi
    	if [ $ENC == "WEP" ]
    	then
    		echo -n "WEP KEY: "
    		read WEPKEY
    		if [ $BSSID != "n" ]
    		then
    			echo "---------------------------------------------------------------"
    			echo "Connecting to: WEP Encrypted AP '$ESSID' with MAC '$BSSID'"
    			echo "---------------------------------------------------------------"
    			sleep 3
    			iwconfig ath0 essid '$ESSID' ap $BSSID key $WEPKEY
    		else
    			echo "----------------------------------------"
    			echo "Connectiong to: WEP Encrypted AP '$ESSID'"
    			echo "----------------------------------------"
    			iwconfig ath0 essid '$ESSID' key $WEPKEY
    		fi
    	fi	
    	if [ $ENC == "WPA" ]
    	then
    		echo -n "WPA PASSPHRASE: "
    		read WPAPASS
    		if [ $BSSID != "n" ]
    		then
    			echo "-"
    			echo "Creating temp wpa_supplicant.conf with AP's Info"
    			L1="network={"
    			L2='ssid="'
    			L3="$ESSID"
    			L4='"'
    			L5="bssid=$BSSID"
    			L6='psk="'
    			L7="$WPAPASS"
    			L8='"'
    			L9="}"
    			rm -rf wpa_supplicant.conf
    			touch wpa_supplicant.conf
    			echo -e $L1 >> wpa_supplicant.conf
    			echo -e $L2$L3$L4 >> wpa_supplicant.conf
    			echo -e $L5 >> wpa_supplicant.conf
    			echo -e $L6$L7$L8 >> wpa_supplicant.conf
    			echo -e $L9 >> wpa_supplicant.conf
    			sleep 4
    			echo "-"
    			echo "File Created"
    			echo "-"
    			echo "-----------------------------------------------------------"
    			echo "Connecting to WPA Encrypted AP '$ESSID' with MAC '$BSSID'"
    			echo "-----------------------------------------------------------"
    			wpa_supplicant -i ath0 -c /mnt/sdb1/wpa_supplicant.conf -B
    		else
    			echo "-"
                            echo "Creating temp wpa_supplicant.conf with AP's Info"
                            L1="network={"
                            L2='ssid="'
                            L3="$ESSID"
                            L4='"'
                            L5='psk="'
                            L6="$WPAPASS"
                            L7='"'
                            L8="}"
                            rm -rf wpa_supplicant.conf
                            touch wpa_supplicant.conf
                            echo -e $L1 >> wpa_supplicant.conf
                            echo -e $L2$L3$L4 >> wpa_supplicant.conf
                            echo -e $L5$L6$L7 >> wpa_supplicant.conf
    			echo -e $L8 >> wpa_supplicant.conf
                            sleep 4
                            echo "-"
                            echo "File Created"
                            echo "-"			
    			echo "-----------------------------------------------------------"
    			echo "Connecting to WPA Encrypted AP '$ESSID'"
    			echo "-----------------------------------------------------------"
                            wpa_supplicant -i ath0 -c /mnt/sdb1/wpa_supplicant.conf -B
    		fi
    	fi
    dhclient ath0
    echo "Successfully Connected To $ESSID"
    exit
    even if you dont use that it. if you go over whats happening in it you can figure it out pretty simply

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6

    Exclamation

    hi rikioh,
    thx for your reply, but for use your script, i need to have my wlan interface up and working,
    i don t even see it in a lspci.
    i tried many madwifi drivers svn and co, still can t get it working :'(
    doest backtrack works for eeepc 1000hd?
    best regards

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Random guess here, I have a 900HA with Back Track 3 Installed on it (Will Be BT4 Eventually After They Come Out With The Stable Version), but what I had to do to get the internet working was go into the bios and auto-turn on the WLAN On Boot feature which enabled the wireless interface as soon as I got my KDE Session. You might want to try that and let us know how that works.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    hi kris,
    i just got it working,in fact it needed to have the manufacturer s driver to be installed
    this is what i ve did
    sudo apt-get install build-essential

    cd
    tar -jxvf 2008_0918_RT2860_Linux_STA_v1.8.0.0.tar.bz2
    gedit 2008_0918_RT2860_Linux_STA_v1.8.0.0/os/linux/config.mk
    cd
    tar -jxvf 2008_0918_RT2860_Linux_STA_v1.8.0.0.tar.bz2
    gedit 2008_0918_RT2860_Linux_STA_v1.8.0.0/os/linux/config.mk
    # Support Wpa_Supplicant
    HAS_WPA_SUPPLICANT=y

    # Support Native WpaSupplicant for Network Maganger
    HAS_NATIVE_WPA_SUPPLICANT_SUPPORT=y
    cd 2008_0918_RT2860_Linux_STA_v1.8.0.0
    make
    sudo make install
    echo 'rt2860sta' | sudo tee -a /etc/modules
    sudo gedit /etc/network/interfaces

    auto ra0
    iface ra0 inet dhcp

    sudo modprobe rt2860sta
    sudo ifconfig ra0 up
    sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart


    i hope it ll help some ppl
    unfortunatly, spoonwep don t see my card :'(
    best regards

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default RT2500 drivers can't get onto WEP encrytped networks

    Hi all,
    been searching hi and lo for reasons why this happens.. think i read somewhere that the RT2500 drivers have a problem matching with the WPA supplicant details or sumting like that.. im new to linux and to BT3 so when i tried to re install my wireless interface with a dl ver of RTx00, which apparently some sites says it works fine with WPA supplicant.. i still could not get my wireless to work!
    What i dont understand is why ra0 is needing this stupid WPA supplicant.conf file when the network i am joining is WEP?? Think there is something wrong with the wext file , like its not compatible with RT2500 drivers? Can anyone shed some light on this?
    I used a Netgear usb WG111v2 adapter and installed the Rt8187 drivers i think, and everything worked fine.. i could authenticate to a WEP network, however i have to return this USB adapter soon and would like to know if my ra0 (installed adapter) can be used... I own a black eeepc 901 and booting BT3 from USB and the wirelss adapter is Ralink
    Question: Is it the WPA conf file that need updating/editing, or is it the RT2500 drivers that need patching.?
    Any ans greatly appreciated...
    Thanks y'all

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •