Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Connecting to wlan in the Terminal?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13

    Default Connecting to wlan in the Terminal?

    Hi guys i wanted to ask you how i could connect with a wlan (wep encrypted) network without starting the xserver on startup. (i sometimes only want to turn the pc on and chat a few minutes (with finch)
    im sure a howto was postet already but i dont find it. sry for bothering you
    mfg Azrial

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    96

    Default

    Replace variables as needed

    Code:
    ifconfig $WLANINT up
    iwconfig $WLANINT essid $ESSID key $KEY 
    iwconfig $WLANINT #check if you're connected
    then you can just dhclient the interface to get an address

    p.s. if the key is in ascii form, you have to use s:$KEY

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13

    Default

    $WLANINT is the interface? such as wlan0? sry for asking but im still new to linux

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Azrial View Post
    $WLANINT is the interface? such as wlan0? sry for asking but im still new to linux
    have you tried:
    Code:
    man ifconfig
    man iwconfig
    man route
    man resolv.conf
    man wpa_supplicant
    man wpa_supplicant.conf

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    96

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Azrial View Post
    $WLANINT is the interface? such as wlan0? sry for asking but im still new to linux
    Stood for Wireless Lan Interface, so yes, wlan0 works.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Azrial View Post
    $WLANINT is the interface? such as wlan0? sry for asking but im still new to linux
    What are you expecting to achieve then ? Just curious.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by archangel.amael View Post
    What are you expecting to achieve then ? Just curious.
    learning things by asking stuff propably useless works just fine for me. Bt4 already tought me what "startx" means and how to start the networkmanager. Also i said i wanted to use it for a fast chat (i ever get curious and confused if are 5 open blinking windows (typical adhs case^^ ) so text mode helps me there)


    and... damned what a silly question...you dont know how to make ":" (double points) with a german keyboard and english keyboard settings or??? man that makes me curious. i was able to get out all other things... (need the ":" for "s:" because i have wep encryption)

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    iwconfig WIRELESSDEVICE essid WIRELESSESSID key HEXDUMPOFKEY
    i.e.
    iwconfig ath0 essid belkin key 5afb5afb5afb5afb5afb
    Alternatively, if you have a plaintext key you must preface it with s:
    iwconfig ath0 essid belkin key s:somepass

    Then you can attempt to connect via dhcp (which I imagine, given your ignorance of other topics is what NetworkManager is doing).

    dhclient ath0

    Now, enter all those commands s0sick told you to into a terminal and spend 30 minutes reading and a little less time expecting to be spoon fed everything. Most things are more than adequately documented.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Azrial View Post
    learning things by asking stuff propably useless works just fine for me. Bt4 already tought me what "startx" means and how to start the networkmanager. Also i said i wanted to use it for a fast chat (i ever get curious and confused if are 5 open blinking windows (typical adhs case^^ ) so text mode helps me there)


    and... damned what a silly question...you dont know how to make ":" (double points) with a german keyboard and english keyboard settings or??? man that makes me curious. i was able to get out all other things... (need the ":" for "s:" because i have wep encryption)
    If you just want to chat then why not use a better suited O/S for chatting such as a german favorite SUse Linux. As for your keyboard layout I would suggest another trip to the google store and look up xorg.conf and or keyboard layout.
    This information will help you immensely. BTW I understand that English is not your first language but you might wanna try to make it a bit more presentable, it helps use to decipher what it is your are writing.

    If you need more help let us know.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •