Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: can aircrack run on MPI?

  1. #1
    Junior Member otkaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    38

    Default can aircrack run on MPI?

    Nothing about it on aircracks site was wondering if it works, and if anyone has tried it?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    What exactly is MPI that you are referring about?

  3. #3
    Good friend of the forums
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    425

    Default

    Nothing about it on aircracks site was wondering if it works, and if anyone has tried it?
    Aircrack uses mutli threads, but it doesn't use mutli cores.

  4. #4
    Junior Member otkaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    38

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by compaq View Post
    Aircrack uses mutli threads, but it doesn't use mutli cores.
    Thanks for the reply compaq

    Quote Originally Posted by hatake_kakashi View Post
    What exactly is MPI that you are referring about?
    Message Passing Interface its used for building clusters for high performance computing. I read some where they were going to include boot pxe and open-mpi or mpich in BT4! You can also do this with slax models in BT3 I believe. You should check it out.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    34

    Default

    I don't see any MPI code in the source.

    h**p://download.aircrack-ng.org/aircrack-ng-1.0-rc2.tar.gz

    From what I understand MPI code isn't easy to write, but it's definitely worthwhile for someone with a large distributed memory system. If you find an MPI version of aircrack, let us know.
    "You shot who in the what now?"

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by compaq View Post
    Aircrack uses mutli threads, but it doesn't use mutli cores.
    I think on an shared memory machine the OS decides which threads to run on which cores. So if your code properly is multithreaded it should run on all available cores.
    "You shot who in the what now?"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •