Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Wep Encrytpion Trouble

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default Wep Encrytpion Trouble

    Hey guys, I managed to do my first Wep crack. I had my friend put in a random wep password on my router. I get the following key after performing the "hacking"

    00:13:f7:bf:66:86:00:00:00:00:00:00:00

    When in linux, I can connect to the network and browse fine.

    However, in windows (I play some games that are only available on windows so that's the only reason I use it) I can not connect to the network using the password above.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rosscoloco View Post
    Hey guys, I managed to do my first Wep crack. I had my friend put in a random wep password on my router. I get the following key after performing the "hacking"

    00:13:f7:bf:66:86:00:00:00:00:00:00:00

    When in linux, I can connect to the network and browse fine.

    However, in windows (I play some games that are only available on windows so that's the only reason I use it) I can not connect to the network using the password above.

    Any suggestions?
    I hope this is your router...anyway, the zeros within that key are zeros for a reason.

    Try this key in your Windows system:
    0013f7bf6686

  3. #3
    Very good friend of the forum killadaninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    London, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    526

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by rosscoloco View Post
    Hey guys, I managed to do my first Wep crack. I had my friend put in a random wep password on my router. I get the following key after performing the "hacking"

    00:13:f7:bf:66:86:00:00:00:00:00:00:00

    When in linux, I can connect to the network and browse fine.

    However, in windows (I play some games that are only available on windows so that's the only reason I use it) I can not connect to the network using the password above.

    Any suggestions?
    1. Type 192.168.1.1 into your browser enter your admin details, change your key. Fair enough you might have forgotten you admin details but just ring your friend has he MUST have it as he needed it to change your key remember]

    2. If your friend has died and only he knew the admin details, then just factory reset your router (little button, hold it in)


    3. Play your windows only games using your own router
    Sometimes I try to fit a 16-character string into an 8–byte space, on purpose.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks for the suggestions guys. This is my router - this was just a test. I have the admin pass and changed it it's not a big deal.

    I just didn't understand why I could use the key in linux and not in windows.

    Quote Originally Posted by killadaninja View Post
    1. Type 192.168.1.1 into your browser enter your admin details, change your key. Fair enough you might have forgotten you admin details but just ring your friend has he MUST have it as he needed it to change your key remember]

    2. If your friend has died and only he knew the admin details, then just factory reset your router (little button, hold it in)


    3. Play your windows only games using your own router
    In windows, I can not even connect to the router. In linux, I could log in and change it. This is my own router :P I'm online now - proof enough for you? lol

  5. #5
    Very good friend of the forum killadaninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    London, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    526

    Default

    Yes the fact that your online must be substantial proof that its your router. Lmao
    Sometimes I try to fit a 16-character string into an 8–byte space, on purpose.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    155

    Default

    did you put the key in with the ':' inbetween every 2 characters? cuz that would be your problem
    This is a hackers forum :P
    root ~# aircrack-ng pwnd-01.cap
    Lenovo Thinkpad R500, OS: Ubuntu 8.10, BackTrack3, Windows XP (VirtualBox), Windows Vista, Windows 7 beta

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killadaninja View Post
    Yes the fact that your online must be substantial proof that its your router. Lmao
    If I'm connected to the router at all, I'm either in Linux, or I reset the wep code on my router - to WPA because that's what I normally use - I was just messing around with l33t h4x. lol sorry you're so suspicious.

    Looks like my simple question is hard to answer:

    00:13:f7:bf:66:86:00:00:00:00:00:00:00

    I tried 0013f7bf6686 AND 0013f7bf668600000000000000 AND 00013f7bf6686 AND 0013f7bf66860

    We did this with 128 bit encryption, by the way. Once again, simply entering 00:13:f7:bf:66:86:00:00:00:00:00:00:00 in worked in Linux, but will not work in Windows.

  8. #8
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default

    Just wondering..

    Are you using the windows wireless utility to log into your router or are you using 3rd party
    software which came with your adapter ?

    Usually the software that comes with your adapter is going to ask you for a passphrase and not the key
    (at least that is my experience with them)

    If you try logging in with the built in windows wireless utility (assuming u have XP) then I believe you will
    be able to enter the key as you have it (without colons).

  9. #9
    Very good friend of the forum Virchanza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    863

    Default

    I believe you have stumbled across one of the new security measures in MS Windows: They have disabled the internet. For decades, the internet was a massive security hole in Microsoft's line of operating systems, so they've closed it once and for all. The decision has garnered mixed reviews.
    Ask questions on the open forums, that way everybody benefits from the solution, and everybody can be corrected when they make mistakes. Don't send me private messages asking questions that should be asked on the open forums, I won't respond. I decline all "Friend Requests".

  10. #10
    Very good friend of the forum killadaninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    London, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    526

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Virchanza View Post
    I believe you have stumbled across one of the new security measures in MS Windows: They have disabled the internet. For decades, the internet was a massive security hole in Microsoft's line of operating systems, so they've closed it once and for all. The decision has garnered mixed reviews.
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA, personally, I would have built internet connectivity into Vista but, I trust them clever guys at microsoft know what their doing.
    Okay it is probably 1 of 2 things,

    1. You are using a 3rd party wifi assistant (like Tape mentioned), this does not support inputting a hex key in Vista,go to START>CONNECT TO , choose your connection , go into the settings, choose use windows to manage this connection, now for that connection Choose WEP and then choose SHARED KEY type in the hex key without colons.

    2. The firmware in your router was not made to accept hex keys from vista, update your routers firmware

    You may have to do both of these steps, or just one, also first of all perhaps (if you are trying to use a 3rd party assistant) try updating the drivers for the software
    Sometimes I try to fit a 16-character string into an 8–byte space, on purpose.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •