PDA

View Full Version : Chrome as Root



Corbass1
05-18-2011, 09:50 PM
Here is how to run as root.

Go to /usr/bin

Edit google-chrome I did with Kate

At the end of exec -a "$0" "$HERE/chrome" "$@"
Add --user-data-dir
So it looks like this
exec -a "$0" "$HERE/chrome" "$@" --user-data-dir

Corbass1

Renek
05-19-2011, 01:16 PM
Just remember that running Chrome as root makes the sandbox useless. Not that thats stopped me from doing it, but just a warning to others. Thanks for the tip

cseven
05-19-2011, 01:18 PM
You can also just install the BETA and you don't have to worry about doing all the rooting stuff.

Ro0t_
05-22-2011, 04:12 AM
just go to terminal and adduser chrome and then when your all done with that right click the backtrack icon in your menu bar and go to "Menu Editor" and select internet then Google chrome ot Chromium browser, advanced then run as different user and type chrome or what ever user you just created and that's all. Make sure you click on file, save on the top left corner to make sure you save your changes.You should be up and running in under a minute. Hope this helps out!

cgelici
05-22-2011, 02:54 PM
Ro0t_ , Do you know how to do this in Gnome too ?

vanilla
05-22-2011, 08:05 PM
Do you know how to do this in Gnome too ?

The easiest way to do it was already posted


You can also just install the BETA and you don't have to worry about doing all the rooting stuff.

you can get it here (http://www.google.com/chrome/intl/en/eula_beta.html?dl=beta_i386_deb)

Ro0t_
05-23-2011, 01:10 PM
HI cgelici I'll give it a shot using Gnome today and see if I can get it working and let you know how and if I get it working.

ayrox
06-14-2011, 10:14 AM
for gnome ;

cd /usr/lib/chromium-browser
hexedit chromium-browser

then ; press the ctrl+s and search geteuid
now, we will change getppid .e and u, change to p .Then we save (ctrl+x).

Now, it's ok.You can run as root.
----

elementankit
07-07-2012, 12:33 PM
HI cgelici I'll give it a shot using Gnome today and see if I can get it working and let you know how and if I get it working.

Hi , thank for the info , it really helped me, is there any messenger you have :)

Danistov
07-08-2012, 08:54 PM
I tried everything written in this post with chromium in bt5 R2 and still not working as root

landon
07-09-2012, 04:09 AM
I personally think another, much safer option is to make use of flag "--user-data-dir"
chromium-browser --user-data-dir=/foo
I created a chromium-profile directory in /root/ to hold the different profiles. You can also append that to any shortcuts with the menu editor in gnome.
I created profiles for pentesting, developing, and normal use. I don't trust running anything associated to Google with root privs.

Here are a few links regarding that:
http://www.chromium.org/user-experience/user-data-directory
http://reality-tech.over-blog.com/article-run-google-chrome-as-root-on-linux-85815868.html
http://peter.sh/experiments/chromium-command-line-switches/#user-data-dir

r083rt
07-09-2012, 06:45 AM
gedit /usr/bin/google-chrome

go to the last line and add --user-data-dir to the end

exec -a "$0" "$HERE/chrome" "$@" --user-data-dir

r083rt

Danistov
07-10-2012, 04:45 PM
I have a browser installed chromium but there is no file "/usr/bin/google-chrome"
file exists "chromium browser" but there does not exist the line "exec-a" $ 0 "" $ HERE / chrome "