PDA

View Full Version : BT2 and VMTools



fjord
05-13-2007, 04:57 PM
i'm sorry to have to ask a question that i'm sure's been answered elsewhere, but i've searched all over google and here, and nothing i have tried works.

i'm noob to backtrack, to linux in general and to vmware, and putting them together has caused me hueg frustration! (well, not that bad)

i was able to get backtrack installed to vmware's hd, so now it boots w/o a live cd mounted. thing thing i cannot figure out is how to install vmtools! i know about the post entitled " vmware-tools installation under bt2.0 VM" but
when i type: mount /dev/cdrom /mnt/whatever, i get the message, "mount: special device /dev/cdrom/ does not exist" even after i have asked vmware to start installation of vmtools. is backtrack not seeing that i even have a cdrom drive and didn't make a special device for it?

please excuse my ignorance and thanks for the help!

Spyder_Snyper
05-13-2007, 07:17 PM
I don't have VMWare here in front of me, but I have used it before.

It's in the VMWare menu. It's under tools I believe...

isamas
05-24-2007, 07:34 PM
Hello,

cdrom device is: /dev/hdc

to mount cdrom:

mount /dev/hdc /mnt/hdc_cdrom