PDA

View Full Version : Install Gnome + Aptitude in BT3?



ESC201
09-16-2008, 07:39 PM
Hi all. I've only recently gotten BT3 up and running on my system. While I still have a few housekeeping things I want to do before I start using BT3 as I did with BT2, I would much rather use Gnome than KDE. I've been looking around a tad and I haven't seen any info on installing Gnome in BackTrack in order to read up on what I need to do and to see if it's even possible however, I haven't found much info.
I learned most of my Linux on Ubuntu and I'm very used to 'sudo apt-get install'ing whatever software I need and that is how I would have installed Gnome however, BackTrack doesn't have aptitude installed. The only package manager I know of in BT is RPM, which I find very confusing. Is there anyway I can install aptitude to BackTrack? If not, how about Gnome? Any help or a point in the right direction is awesome. Thanks.

wick86
09-17-2008, 12:39 AM
Hi all. I've only recently gotten BT3 up and running on my system. While I still have a few housekeeping things I want to do before I start using BT3 as I did with BT2, I would much rather use Gnome than KDE. I've been looking around a tad and I haven't seen any info on installing Gnome in BackTrack in order to read up on what I need to do and to see if it's even possible however, I haven't found much info.
I learned most of my Linux on Ubuntu and I'm very used to 'sudo apt-get install'ing whatever software I need and that is how I would have installed Gnome however, BackTrack doesn't have aptitude installed. The only package manager I know of in BT is RPM, which I find very confusing. Is there anyway I can install aptitude to BackTrack? If not, how about Gnome? Any help or a point in the right direction is awesome. Thanks.

Try slap-get to install software you can find lots threads on it.

ESC201
09-18-2008, 02:49 PM
Try slap-get to install software you can find lots threads on it.

I get a command not found with slap-get and also with slapt-get which is supposedly included with BT. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slapt-get#Distributions)

imported_=Tron=
09-18-2008, 03:00 PM
I get a command not found with slap-get and also with slapt-get which is supposedly included with BT. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slapt-get#Distributions)It is not included with BT3F, but you can easily add it with FastTrack.

wick86
09-18-2008, 03:28 PM
I get a command not found with slap-get and also with slapt-get which is supposedly included with BT. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slapt-get#Distributions)

You can git the latest version from here
http://software.jaos.org/slackpacks/12.1/slapt-get-0.9.12e-i386-1.tgz

and check out pureh@te's post
http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=10433

ESC201
09-19-2008, 10:53 PM
You can git the latest version from here
http://software.jaos.org/slackpacks/12.1/slapt-get-0.9.12e-i386-1.tgz

and check out pureh@te's post
http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=10433

I got it installed and running very easily thank you. :)


I've been doing some more google searching and I've found that a guy on slax.org makes a slax module for gnome. (http://www.slax.org/modules.php?action=detail&id=435) I've installed it and all of its listed dependencies however it doesn't seem to get along with BT3 very well. Some things I've noticed after about five minutes are any attempt to open the apperence window (change background, desktop effects, etc) results in it closing immediatly after opening. Also, any thing but the main gnome main and custom menu panel items will not go on a panel. Either they keep restarting or it says they aren't anywhere to be found.
Luckily, I still have KDE and I made a backup of my system before getting into this. But anyway, if anyone has any info on what to do about this, (or even another way to install gnome) it would be awesome.

DuroReX
10-04-2008, 09:40 AM
I had the exact same questions as you, and after a while I figured this out:
gnomeslackbuild.org/download/ works for me!
Also I used fast-track to install slapt-get for me

beppemac
12-14-2008, 06:34 AM
I got it installed and running very easily thank you. :)


I've been doing some more google searching and I've found that a guy on slax.org makes a slax module for gnome. I've installed it and all of its listed dependencies however it doesn't seem to get along with BT3 very well. Some things I've noticed after about five minutes are any attempt to open the apperence window (change background, desktop effects, etc) results in it closing immediatly after opening. Also, any thing but the main gnome main and custom menu panel items will not go on a panel. Either they keep restarting or it says they aren't anywhere to be found.
Luckily, I still have KDE and I made a backup of my system before getting into this. But anyway, if anyone has any info on what to do about this, (or even another way to install gnome) it would be awesome.

Hi, about GNOME 2.24 I found a package for Italian users, called Gslacky, that help users to install Gnome 2.24 in their Slackware 12.1 disto.
Does someone know if this package could work with Backtrack3??